HSUWA Elections

The HSUWA has a democratic and progressive structure. Membership involvement and consultation is encouraged in the union’s structures.

The purpose of the HSUWA is to protect and further the interests of its members by any lawful means.

The HSUWA is a state registered organisation with Rules approved by the Western Australian Industrial Relations Commission under the Industrial Relations Act (WA). The union’s Rules are our constitution and set out the way the union conducts its affairs. This includes the union’s coverage, structures and the rights and obligations of members and elected officials. Copies of the Rules can be found here

HSUWA controls the funds, resources and staff of the union. Decisions are made here in WA. The HSUWA also operates as the Western Australian Branch of the national HSU. The HSU is a federal registered organisation with separate Rules approved by the Fair Work Commission under the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act (Cth). Each Branch of the HSU nationally is responsible for the management of its own internal affairs. The are eight Branches of the HSU that make up the federal union with a National Office based in Melbourne.

HSUWA Committee of Management

Like any members run association, the HSUWA has a “board of directors” called the Committee of Management (COM).

The COM is comprised of an elected: • President; • Vice President; • Treasurer; and • Nine Ordinary Committee Members; plus the Secretary who is appointed by the COM.

All financial members of HSUWA may nominate for positions on the COM. Members are entitled to vote in elections held by the WA Electoral Commission. Voting is done by postal ballot forwarded by the Electoral Commission to members’ private addresses. Elected positions are for 3-year terms. Elections for one third of the Committee are held annually. Paid employees of the HSUWA are not entitled to stand for the COM.

The COM acts as the union’s governing body, meeting at regular intervals for financial, governance and policy oversight. A sub-committee known as the Finance and Executive Committee meets more regularly and is dedicated to financial oversight.

7 October 2019


1. Treasurer (1) - term to expire December 2022

2. Ordinary Committee Member (3 positions) - term to expire December 2022

Nominations will be accepted from Thursday 24 October 2019. All financial members of HSUWA are eligible to nominate.

Nomination forms are available from the Returning Officer or the HSUWA Office. If you would like to discuss the role and function of the positions please contact HSUWA Secretary Naomi McCrae at the union office or nmccrae@hsuwa.com.au

The Election Notice is here

Get In Touch